Ride Leader Training on 30th June

Road cycling & upcoming rides
geoff m

Postby geoff m » 21 Jun 2013, 19:11

I've just seen the availability of this course for those I've spoken to and are waiting to do this recently revised course.

Notice is not great but please try to get on if you can. Anyone else wanting to be a ride leader please contact me or one of the committee members. Once agreed, and with rostered duties you will get reimbursement. First aid is required to receive the qualification. Will be reimbursed as well.

http://www.austcycle.com.au/news/2013/2 ... urse-dates

Rajiv

Postby Rajiv » 28 Jun 2013, 17:37

Hi Geoff,

I'm not that experienced yet but am interested in helping the club out by becoming a ride leader. Doug mentioned that there might be a variety of ride types that I could lead, once qualified and once I've got a few kms under my belt. However I am a bit confused about which course DHBC recommends. The link above leads to Austcycle, whereas the one posted on Facebook leads to Cycling NSW. I'd also need to get a First Aid Certificate.

Any recommendations/suggestions?

Regards,
Rajiv

Eleri

Postby Eleri » 28 Jun 2013, 20:35

Rajiv - the courses are related. However, do the Cycling NSW one now that it has been re-instated.

The reason to do that is that as a ride leader on a club sanctioned ride you have a duty of care to the bunch. You are also covered by insurance when acting as a ride leader. Your licence will be updated to include your coach qualification.

The link to the Cycling NSW course is here - it's the Road and Track Skills Course now (recently changed names). People who are interested should register with Barrie McLean so he knows the level of interest.

silly_billy_boy

Postby silly_billy_boy » 29 Jun 2013, 00:29

Hi. Would be interested as well. I notice the Sunday one is now closed. But will contact about the other.

Bill

Eleri

Postby Eleri » 29 Jun 2013, 05:57