ebay track bike frame

For all things Velodrome
utopia

Postby utopia » 09 Jun 2011, 16:03

Hi Trackies -
First of all, I'm a novice wrt to bike building and secondly with track / track bikes.
I'm considering getting a small track frame for a junior rider (say size 50) and have looking at the usual suspects for 2nd hand ones on ebay / bikeexchange:

I was looking at http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/track-fixed- ... 3f02d16d69

First question is the item itself: Has anyone tried one of these frames and any reviews/comments ?
Second question is legality: How will someone know it's a UCI compliant track bike, do they take measurements of each bike or the like ?

Third question is building it up, other bits cost , difficultly level: I'm thinking I need to add wheelset (say $110) , a bottom bracket + crank, chain, rear cog, headset + handlebars and a saddle. - have I left out anything? ,

would everything looks like it can be done with normal tools the exception of getting the headset in ?
will I end up paying about the same or more then say $519 for http://www.bikeexchange.com.au/bicycles ... /100214724

And or/any other advice appreciated.
Ta

AlexD

Postby AlexD » 09 Jun 2011, 18:52

I've seen people use those frames, and the very similar VISP ones, on the street as fixies. The quality control is apparently not great - e.g. one in Melbourne had a skew-iff rear dropout, making it almost impossible to fit the wheel.
You get what you pay for, basically, and those are as cheap as they come. By the time you buy all the necessary parts, it adds up quickly, and I don't think you'd save much.

I think the Fuji track would be a much better buy
- no need to find all the suitable parts
- the parts that it comes with are reasonable quality (Formula hubs, Ritchey headset)
- lots of sizes to choose from
- a very cheap deal.