Bike Dilema - seeking advice

Bicycle related chatter & discussion
Cold_Ears

Postby Cold_Ears » 24 Jun 2016, 17:14

Hi all,

I plan to upgrade my bike and looking at the relatively cost effective Merida range. I am trying to decide between a Merida Scultura 5000-E (2015) and a Merida Reacto 7000 (2015) both of which I have found on sale sub $2500. Whilst I initially preferred the reacto, I am wondering are aero road bikes allowed in road races?

I am new to racing and would like to train this year and enter some events next year. I am also riding L'etape Aust in December and don't want to buy a bike that doesnt meet their rules.

I am not sure of my bike size thus trusting a local bike shop.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Tim G

Eleri

Postby Eleri » 24 Jun 2016, 18:26

The Reacto looks more like a time trial bike to me. I suggest it would be a bit uncomfortable for every day riding. You could ride it in L'Etape but I don't think it would be a great climbing bike.

The Scultura is probably more suitable. If you get disc brakes you won't be able to race it in sanctioned races because the UCI says 'no discs'. A sanctioned race is a criterium at Heffron for example. It will be fine for Gran Fondos such as L'Etape even with disc brakes.

Cold_Ears

Postby Cold_Ears » 24 Jun 2016, 19:02

Thanks for the info. I have tried a friends reacto - I didnt mind it, though the road was fairly smooth. More food for thought. I will definitely be avoiding disc brakes though. :)

Tim G

ratzzzzz

Postby ratzzzzz » 26 Jun 2016, 18:04