Buddhism on a Bike - competitive cycling research

Bicycle related chatter & discussion
Camilla

Postby Camilla » 20 Feb 2012, 08:42

A request for help from John Scott-Hamilton of Armidale for help with research on competitive cyclists:

My name is John Scott-Hamilton and I am a PhD student currently doing research in Sport Psychology at the University of New England, Armidale NSW. As part of my doctorate I am running a survey called Buddhism on a Bike: Tailoring Mindfulness-Acceptance to Promote Flow in Competitive Cyclists. As a researcher and passionate competitive cyclist (member of the Armidale road cycling and New England MTB clubs), I am appealing to fellow competitive cyclists for their help by participating in this survey which will take approximately 40 minutes to complete.

The survey, and the research stemming from the results, relates to a new area of Sport Psychology underpinned by a 2500 year -old Buddhist practice called mindfulness-awareness, and the psychological construct of flow. Inspired by promising research showing the effectiveness of mindfulness training on the enhancement of sports performance, my research proposes to extend limited existing knowledge by specifically examining mindfulness, flow, sports-specific anxiety, and performance enhancement within the domain of competitive cycling.

The ultimate aim of my research is to development a tailored 8-week mindfulness protocol training competitive cyclists to use mindfulness-acceptance skills (meditation, mindful-yoga, mindful-spinning) to reduce concentration anxiety disruptions by increasing their present-moment focus (i.e., attention and awareness of prevailing sensations and emotions) on the task at hand to promote peak experience
(flow) and optimal performance. Beyond the enhancement of physical and mental skills on the bike, this research also seeks to promote the enhancement of psychological well-being in all domains of life.